Subject: Re: Virus Warning! It that time of the year.

Posted on

 It’s that time of year again when those people  slither out from whatever rock they usually hide under and try to scam people out of their holiday funds.  Please see below for an example of a fake FedEx message which contains a nasty virus that infects your computer when you click the “Get Postal Receipt” link – don’t worry, I’ve removed the link!  If you scroll down, I’ve also posted a screen shot from Snopes that gives more information.  You can read the entire Snopes write-up here http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/ups.asp

There are also similar messages going around that purport to be from UPS, Canada Post, USPS, and DHL.

From: “First-Class UPS logistics” <delivery-207@lasvegas.com>
Date: December 6, 2012, 5:28:18 AM EST
To: <your email>
Subject: ID (M)EOP04 679 359 9615 4595

FedEx  
   
Order: SD-5468-482485468  
Order Date: Monday, 2 December 2012, 11:23 AM
Dear Customer,Your parcel has arrived at the post office at December 4.Our postrider was unable to deliver the parcel to you.

To receive a parcel, please, go to the nearest our office and show this postal receipt.

 

        GET POSTAL RECEIPT    
 
Best Regards, The FedEx Team.
   

Also they are also calling people.  Example you receive calls where they said they were checking on the status of your magazine subscription and tried to argue with you that you got magazines (which I don’t).  When they realized I wasn’t giving in they hung up on me.  Scary thing is they knew my name and address and said that they had my credit card information on file.

There was another one that said they were from “windows” and that my computer was sending out an alarm and I needed to turn on my computer so that they could fix it.  I told them my computer was already on and they hung up on me.  Happened to a friend of mine’s friend and she told them she didn’t even have a computer.  LOL

They’re everywhere!! Beware and careful!!!

Leave a Reply

